Book Review: Brief Cases

Brief Cases

Title: Brief Cases
Author: Jim Butcher
Series: #15
Genre: Adult Fiction, Fantasy
Publisher: Ace
Page Count: 400
Type of Book: Arc, Physical Copy, Paperback
Received: Publisher
Review Word Count: 500
Rated: 5/5 stars
Notes: Still deserving of the 5 star rating, very nice!

As Sarah J Maas fans say about their author; I’m trash for Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series. It’s fun, it’s entertaining, it’s quick light reading for hot summer days. The world building is great, the magic system is easy enough to understand (even if you don’t always agree with it, let alone like it) and the characters are so realistic you almost feel as though you’re there with them in the story.

This is book number 15, though it’s a collection of short stories, so of course I read it anyway. I think there was only one story referencing a book that I hadn’t read that I skipped (though I don’t recall which one, unfortunately), as I’m only on book six of the Dresden Files series.

For those who don’t know what Dresden Files is: it’s about a detective who solves unusual cases in chicago. The twist? He’s a wizard. And he’s listed in the phone book. He’s a sarcastic guy that likes helping innocent people so long as they have the money with which to pay him. Hey being a wizard isn’t easy, after all. Especially when there’s dangerous bad guys out to get you…

These stories all revolve around Harry’s universe, some of them funny, some of them serious. I’m very much hoping there’s going to be another anthology, because I like reading short stories set in my favorite character universes.

5/5 stars, and highly recommended to urban fantasy fans.

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book

Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Song in the Silence

Title: Song in the Silence
Author: Elizabeth Kerner
Series: Book 1
Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction
Publisher: Tom Doherty
Page Count: 400
Type of Book: Hardback
Received: Library Loan
Review Word Count: 500
Rated: 5/5 stars
Notes: Short review, long book.

Epic fantasy at it’s finest. Fans of Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, Andre Norton, and Robert Jordan may enjoy this author’s writing, for the author weaves words and tales as fine as George RR Martin but in a completely different sort of landscape. There are tales within tales in this first book, and the only thing that truly vexed me was the constant character pov change, but aside from that this was a truly marvelous find and one that I didn’t expect to fall in love with so completely.

The ending of the book left things hanging wide open, of course, as there was so much crammed into the beginning that there was obviously going to need more books later. I’m unsure how long this series will be, but it’s one that I’m aiming to keep reading more of as time goes on, and even buying if I find copies of the books themselves.

And while this is a short review, the book itself is long and entertaining. I sincerely hope that y’all check this book out because it’s well worth reading. This has been on my goodreads wishlist forever, and I wish I can remember where I first saw it. A library? A bookstore? A blog? The possibilities of such are endless, much to my chagrin. Ah well. Happy discoveries make for excellent finds.

Overall, I’m giving this book 5/5 glorious stars because of dragons, strong female characters, horses, magic, mystery, and romance. A thoroughly satisfying read!

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book

Favorite New Series: The Accidental Sorcerer

Why is this series not talked about more? Gerald is a cool character, and the first book was awesome. Full of things that go boom, a tortured hero, a princess that wears business suits and can do magic, and an intriguing plot that actually felt unique and original. Granted, the ending was rather depressing, but now that I have books two and three borrowed from the library, I plan on reading the rest of the series this week, and seeing if my opinion of the books keep up to a 5 star rating.

 

Gerald Dunwoody is a wizard. Just not a particularly good one. He’s blown up a factory, lost his job, and there’s a chance that he’s not really a Third Grade wizard after all. So it’s off to New Ottosland to be the new Court Wizard for King Lional.

It’s a shame that King Lional isn’t the vain, self-centered young man he appeared to be. With a Princess in danger, a talking bird who can’t stay out of trouble, and a kingdom to save, Gerald soon suspects that he might be out of his depth. And if he can’t keep this job, how will he ever become the wizard he was destined to be…

THE ACCIDENTAL SORCERER is the first novel in the Rogue Agent trilogy, from one of fantasy’s newest stars

~As seen in the Description on Goodreads

 

I’m really enjoying the series so far, however. The first book is 600+ pages, so it’s definitely going to feel like a long read, but each book is non-stop action from the very first chapter, so definitely well worth it. I’ll keep ya’ll updated on each book, if you’d like, and what I think as the series progresses, but so far…

5/5 stars for a rip-roaring good time!

Until next time,

-Pass Me That Book

Bookish Blue

Lifestyle Blog

The Never Ending Bookshelf

Where dreams are just a bookshelf away ...

readwithtay

a bookish lifestyle blog

Jaimie Engle

Writes TV, Film, Comics & Books

corastillwrites.wordpress.com/

I write a lot, read a lot and give unsolicited advice.

A Dance With Books

Reviews, Recommendations, Discussions and Book Hauls

KBbookreviews

Fun and detailed book reviews on all genres!

Intotheheartwyld

Adventure Awaits

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Yorkshire Book Lover

Passionate about reviewing brilliant books!

Menlo Park Art

Mrs. Nordensvan's Art Class Website

Upside-Down Books

a world of tea drinkers and dragon riders

R.J. Logar

books, projects, dreams

Emma R.

Books, Writing and Life!

Information World

information makes you aware and smart.

BookmarkedOne

Books, Writing, Violins, and Voice Acting