So I Read The Belgariad Series: A Review

Hello Everyone,

Such lovely fantasy covers, don’t you think?

Back in my teens, before The Lord of the Rings and The Wheel of Time there was a little lesser known (or so it seems to me) fantasy series titled The Belgariad. I plowed through them all, one by one, and fell in love. There were actually women in here unlike in Lord of the Rings (where there were maybe a tiny handful barely mentioned) and the women were powerful, real, and not all of them magical. The writing was good and the characters were so real, I felt as though I was a part of their world if only for a while. Now granted, it had its flaws. Polgara could drive me insane after a while. Garion could be particularly stupid at times. But it had the atmospheric quest to defeat evil with a traveling company that I loved in Lord of the Rings and it also had powerful magical women that I admired out of Wheel of Time. It was the best of both worlds. And in 2009, I was saddened to learn that the author, David Eddings, had passed away.

Image found through Pinterest.

Now technically I have only read the first half of Belgariad. I’m right now on Guardians of the West and looking forward to plowing through the next half of the series. That’s also not including all of Eddings other books, series, and the like that I still haven’t read but hope to get to soon, when my insane tbr will let me.

I’ve just learned through Pinterest that there’s a prequel too. So fun! I’ll need to buy that, asap. But back to my review. If you liked the previous series that I mentioned (Lord of the Rings & Wheel of Time) and you enjoyed the series Iron Druid by Kevin Hearne, the Princess Bride by William Goldman and you liked Dresden Files by Jim Butcher you’ll probably love these books. There’s all sorts of side quests, a bit of politics down the line, a bit of romance here and there, a kidnapping, and plenty of battles filled with swords and magic both. The evil bad guys are numerous and the primary bad guy vaguely makes me think of the eye from the lord of the rings, but it’s all wonderful and worth investing in these books and reading them one by one. I suggest a fall reading. A cozy fire, and plenty of your favorite tea.

This is exactly the version that I have of the series!

I highly recommend this series it was one of my favorites and still is. If you haven’t yet read it, you definitely need to. Trust me, you’ll love it. It’s fun and entertaining and I hope they make a Netflix series for it one day.

My Rating:

⭐ ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Until next time,

-Pass Me That Book

September TBR: I Haven’t Done One Of These In Ages!

Hello all,

Lots of things happening in September. September first is my birthday!!! 🎂🎉🎂 Happy birthday to me!!! (I’ll be 32 for those curious.)

Series September is also going on, meaning you try to knock out as many series as possible.

Magical Readathon is happening but I doubt I’ll participate in that one.

Becca’s Bookopolathon which I think I misspelled lol, is also happening. I’m not sure I will participate in this yet or not?

Big Books September is something I’m doing for myself in reading as many big books as I can seeing as we’re at the home stretch of the end of the year.

Here’s my potential tbr subject to change:

All the books I want to read!

Now I have read Eragon books 1 + 2 but I don’t think I’ve read book 3 and I know I haven’t read the last one.

I have read the Poppy War but not the remaining two.

I have read ALL of Pawn of Prophecy first original set up until the second series midway through.

And I’ve read book one of Sabriel but not the rest.

See a theme going here? Lol. I’m hoping to grab these from my local library and finish these all off hopefully. The rest I haven’t listed are ones that I’ve not read. These are some extras that I’m contemplating for series + big books:

Extra books I’ve been meaning to read!

I probably won’t get to all of these lol. And I’m still struggling in writing reviews, but I really am behind and hopeful that September can be my catch up month. Y’all can join me in #BigBookSeptember. I’d love for you to spread the word! Just tag me on Twitter as @Lovesbookandtea! What’s your tbr looking like? Read any of these? Let me know in the comments!

Until next time,

-Pass Me That Book.

Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Song in the Silence

Title: Song in the Silence
Author: Elizabeth Kerner
Series: Book 1
Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction
Publisher: Tom Doherty
Page Count: 400
Type of Book: Hardback
Received: Library Loan
Review Word Count: 500
Rated: 5/5 stars
Notes: Short review, long book.

Epic fantasy at it’s finest. Fans of Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, Andre Norton, and Robert Jordan may enjoy this author’s writing, for the author weaves words and tales as fine as George RR Martin but in a completely different sort of landscape. There are tales within tales in this first book, and the only thing that truly vexed me was the constant character pov change, but aside from that this was a truly marvelous find and one that I didn’t expect to fall in love with so completely.

The ending of the book left things hanging wide open, of course, as there was so much crammed into the beginning that there was obviously going to need more books later. I’m unsure how long this series will be, but it’s one that I’m aiming to keep reading more of as time goes on, and even buying if I find copies of the books themselves.

And while this is a short review, the book itself is long and entertaining. I sincerely hope that y’all check this book out because it’s well worth reading. This has been on my goodreads wishlist forever, and I wish I can remember where I first saw it. A library? A bookstore? A blog? The possibilities of such are endless, much to my chagrin. Ah well. Happy discoveries make for excellent finds.

Overall, I’m giving this book 5/5 glorious stars because of dragons, strong female characters, horses, magic, mystery, and romance. A thoroughly satisfying read!

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book

Book Review: The Belgariad Series

 

Title: Pawn of Prophecy/Queen of Sorcery
Author: David Eddings
Series: Yes
Genre: Fantasy
Publisher:
Page Count: 600 (300 respectively for both first books)
Review Word Count: 1000
Type of Book: Paperback
Received: I honestly don’t remember, I’ve had these books for years
Rated: 5/5 stars
Notes: Read for 24in48, which starts tomorrow!

 

I just read through books 1 and 2 of The Belgariad, and really enjoyed both of them. Of course, this is my fifth time re-reading book 1 “Pawn of Prophecy”, but I have never finished the series, due to it taking me literal years to find and collect all the books to the series that had matching covers. I’m planning on just binge reading the entire series in the next couple of days, but there are a few things that I wanted to talk about in regards to the books.

#1: Murgo’s: From what I recall, aren’t they a main race in the Wheel of Time series? *Check into that* Did David Eddings rip off Robert Jordan, or vice versa? Are Murgo’s also part of the Tolkien franchise?

#2: Brill: he reminds me very strongly of a character in the Wheel of Time series as well. Perhaps ya’ll might remember the Peddler Padar Fane*? *check name* He also had a bad habit of showing up when not wanted, and turned out to be pretty much as evil as evil gets.

#3: Salmassra: She reminds me strongly of this scene from Outlander, when she kidnapped Jamie’s nephew Ian. Garion didn’t suffer nearly as much as poor Ian, yet the scenes ring rather similarly, for me.

#4: Aunt Pol: Garion’s words of her living for four thousand years and being a cold heartless woman ring true, yet there’s also her unexpected caring side from time to time. Still, I don’t much like her as a character. I find her to be rather manipulative and overly harsh towards others at times.

#5: Riding/Walking/Running: There’s a lot of all three going on quite a bit through these books, as they travel to fulfill the prophecy. Normally, I like reading about these parts, but sometimes it can get rather redundant.

#6: Prophecy: Most prophecy’s are annoying, and don’t live up to their full potential and I’m sure you could name several books/series that do such. I’m truly hoping that this will be one that just knocks the socks off of me, and actually has strong reasons for having a prophecy and isn’t just petty squabbling between gods and manipulations from lesser mortals.

#7: Slavery: Serfs or slaves, the books are hard hitting towards that particular subject. I do hope that the issue gets resolved towards the later end in a believable way.

#8: Bathing: I like that the characters are always concerned about bathing. Actually, that’s a lie. It seems that Pol is the only one concerned, and forces the rest of them to bath quite a bit. Unless you’re a girl, the men can’t seem to be bothered with it. It’s…quirksome.

#9: Horses: I *love* that Hettar understands the horses so. One of my favorite scenes in the first two books is how Durnik sits on a horse, and the horse sighs, and Hettar laughs and…well, you’ll just have to read it, but if you understand horses at all, you’ll find it amusing too.

And #10: The Length: The books read far too quickly. I flew through 300 pages in less than four hours, they go that fast, because they’re that fun. There’s so much rich detail, action, and conversation that it makes for an easy read. I hope that the books start getting longer, but they all appear about the same size, so probably not.
thebelgardiad

And there you have ten thoughts from me about the Belgariad Series by David Eddings. Have you read the series? If so, please don’t spoil me, I’m only just about to start book three. Chat about books 1 + 2 in the comments, if you will, because I really want to talk about them with someone whose read the series. Otherwise, 5/5 stars for both books 1 + 2, and I definitely plan on finishing the series as the week passes.

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book