Fantasy Book Reviews, Young Adult Book Reviews

Netgalley Review: They Drown Our Daughters

Hello Everyone,

Such a pretty cover!

Title: They Drown Our Daughters

Author: Katrina Monroe

Series: Standalone (?)

Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press

Page Count: 300

Genre: Gothic Horror

Trigger Warnings: suicide, drowning


Goodreads Summary:

For fans of Jennifer McMahon and Silvia Moreno-Garcia comes a haunting and atmospheric new novel from debut author Katrina Monroe.

If you can hear the call of the water,
It’s already far too late.

They say Cape Disappointment is haunted. That’s why tourists used to flock there in droves. They’d visit the rocky shoreline under the old lighthouse’s watchful eye and fish shells from the water as they pretended to spot dark shapes in the surf. Now the tourists are long gone, and when Meredith Strand and her young daughter return to Meredith’s childhood home after an acrimonious split from her wife, the Cape seems more haunted by regret than any malevolent force.

But her mother, suffering from early stages of Alzheimer’s, is convinced the ghost stories are real. Not only is there something in the water, but it’s watching them. Waiting for them. Reaching out to Meredith’s daughter the way it has to every woman in their line for generations-and if Meredith isn’t careful, all three women, bound by blood and heartbreak, will be lost one by one to the ocean’s mournful call.

Part modern gothic, part ghost story, They Drown Our Daughters explores the depths of motherhood, identity, and the lengths a woman will go to hold on to both.


My Thoughts:

It’s queer, it’s Gothic horror, and it’s said fans of Silvia Moreno-Garcia should like this. So why didn’t I? 🤷


My Review:

I actually read this ages ago, back during the summer and forgot to post a review. Whoops. Let’s see if I can scrabble a brief background on what I read, what I liked about this and why it didn’t work for me!

A curse, a haunting, and a queer girl in search for answers. All that sounds good, right? But for some reason I just wasn’t drawn into the story! I felt no connection with any of these characters, and it felt like other authors have done this and made a better job of it. It had all the creepy elements, but I wasn’t captivated. Probably 15 year old me would have adored this but adult me is just “meh, it’s okay” and I’m sorry but that’s just how I feel about it. The writing was good and showed promise. The plot was decent and showed vague interest. But overall? This was another solid 3 star read for me. Maybe her next book will work better for me.


My Rating:

⭐⭐⭐

Until next time,

-Pass Me That Book

Standard