Ebook Review: The Good Luck Girls

Hello all,

It feels like forever since I have done a proper review, and I’m so glad to be back in business! I hope this turns out well, I’m testing out a new style for reviewing. Like the graphic? I made it with Canva. But on to the book…

About the Book:

Book Title: The Good Luck Girls

Book Author: Charlotte Nicole Davis

Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates

Page Count: 400

Genre: YA, Fantasy Fiction, Dystopian

Book Summary:

Westworld meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this stunning fantasy adventure from debut author Charlotte Nicole Davis.

Aster, the protector
Violet, the favorite
Tansy, the medic
Mallow, the fighter
Clementine, the catalyst

THE GOOD LUCK GIRLS

The country of Arketta calls them Good Luck Girls–they know their luck is anything but. Sold to a “welcome house” as children and branded with cursed markings. Trapped in a life they would never have chosen.

When Clementine accidentally murders a man, the girls risk a dangerous escape and harrowing journey to find freedom, justice, and revenge in a country that wants them to have none of those things. Pursued by Arketta’s most vicious and powerful forces, both human and inhuman, their only hope lies in a bedtime story passed from one Good Luck Girl to another, a story that only the youngest or most desperate would ever believe.

It’s going to take more than luck for them all to survive.

My Thoughts:

This was loads of fun! Fair warning for readers, this starts out with attempted rape. There’s references to sexual abuse, past rape, swearing, referenced past suicide, and violence. It’s definitely feeling like Handmaid’s Tale but not so much Westworld. I mean, it barely identified with Westworld-apart from the train. At least that I could tell but I admit it’s been longer since I watched Westworld than Handmaid’s Tale. Handmaid’s vibes were way stronger for this book but I’m not complaining as I love that series.

The story tells of Clementine accidentally killing a man fixing to rape her in a “Welcome House” and Aster grabs her little sister and a few other girls and flees. Violet, one of the girls, tells them they can have safe harbor in finding Lady Ghost at the border, but that freedom comes at a price. Desperate, the girls flee lawmen, ghosts, and their pasts in the hopes of finding safe harbor at last. With one questionable ally named Zee to guide them, will they reach freedom? Or forever be a good luck girl?

There’s a lot of character in these pages, though a few spots seemed to drag it picked up quickly again. The pacing was fast for most of the book, and I loved the characters overall. Aster and the other girls were all strong female characters that I loved. I think my favorites were a tie between Aster and Violet.

The nicest surprise in this book was that there was no love interest! It was all about survival. Sure, subtle hints here and there but not overwhelmingly so. It was nice reading a YA book that didn’t have a strong romance side plot. Aster’s primary focus was caring for her sister Clementine, not in getting a boy! Finally, a YA that is all about survival and no romance. (Don’t get me wrong, I adore romance but this makes a refreshing change!)

My Rating:

⭐⭐⭐⭐

I received this through my ebook library app. I’m grateful to my library supporting my reading habits. Thank you also for reading my review. I’d love to know your thoughts in the comments.

Until next time,

-Pass Me That Book

Book Review: The Winter Witch

 

The Winter Witch

Title: The Winter Witch
Author: Paula Brackston
Series: Book 1
Genre: Adult Fiction, Romance, Fantasy
Page Count: 400
Received: Library
Type of Book: Paperback, Physical Copy, Library Loan
Review Word Count: 500
Rated: 3.5/5 stars
Notes: I loved the writing style, but the depressing mood the story set was not what I was after at all.

The Winter Witch is a book that’s been on my radar to read for a couple years now, and I’m pleased I finally got it done. The cover is one of my favorites, it’s a perfect holiday read, and the atmospheric writing and characters are beautiful and well wrought. With an air of Outlander by Diana Gabaldon, I was certain that this would be a new favorite.

Fledgling witch Morgana must defend her love, her home, and her life in this enthralling tale perfect for fans of Discovery of Witches

In her small early nineteenth century Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana, who has not spoken since she was a young girl. Her silence is a mystery, as well as her magic. Concerned for her safety, her mother is anxious to see her married, and Cai Jenkins, a widower from the far hills, seems the best choice.

After her wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving her mother, and wary of this man, whom she does not know, and who will take her away to begin a new life. But she soon falls in love with Cai’s farm and the wild mountains that surround it. Cai works to understand the beautiful, half-tamed creature he has chosen for a bride, and slowly, he begins to win Morgana’s affections. It’s not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there—a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana. Forced to defend her home, her man, and herself, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything.

-Summary as seen on Goodreads

This, however, was rather depressing, and almost lax in that there wasn’t hardly anything going on. I liked Morgana a lot, and I liked that the character had chosen to be mute. I rarely find that in adult fiction, and I feel as though it were well handled. But the sheer amount of bullying, hateful and cruel comments, and general disregard for her intelligent simply because she chose not to speak was a serious mood killer at times. I appreciate the author attempting to be historically accurate with this, and I rather enjoyed the descriptive scenes of passages throughout the book. It alternated between character povs as well, but I didn’t mind overmuch, as it neatly flowed throughout the story.

Overall, I’m giving this a 3.5 raising it to 4 stars out of 5. Strong writing, great main characters…if it wasn’t just so depressing and moody for Morgana, I might have enjoyed it more. I might try the author again in the future. Strongly recommend that the reader keeps a box of tissues on hand for possible triggers in regards to abuse.

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book