Hardback Book Review: Song in the Silence

Song in the Silence

Title: Song in the Silence
Author: Elizabeth Kerner
Series: Book 1
Genre: Fantasy, Adult Fiction
Publisher: Tom Doherty
Page Count: 400
Type of Book: Hardback
Received: Library Loan
Review Word Count: 500
Rated: 5/5 stars
Notes: Short review, long book.

Epic fantasy at it’s finest. Fans of Mercedes Lackey, Anne McCaffrey, Andre Norton, and Robert Jordan may enjoy this author’s writing, for the author weaves words and tales as fine as George RR Martin but in a completely different sort of landscape. There are tales within tales in this first book, and the only thing that truly vexed me was the constant character pov change, but aside from that this was a truly marvelous find and one that I didn’t expect to fall in love with so completely.

The ending of the book left things hanging wide open, of course, as there was so much crammed into the beginning that there was obviously going to need more books later. I’m unsure how long this series will be, but it’s one that I’m aiming to keep reading more of as time goes on, and even buying if I find copies of the books themselves.

And while this is a short review, the book itself is long and entertaining. I sincerely hope that y’all check this book out because it’s well worth reading. This has been on my goodreads wishlist forever, and I wish I can remember where I first saw it. A library? A bookstore? A blog? The possibilities of such are endless, much to my chagrin. Ah well. Happy discoveries make for excellent finds.

Overall, I’m giving this book 5/5 glorious stars because of dragons, strong female characters, horses, magic, mystery, and romance. A thoroughly satisfying read!

Until next time,
-Pass Me That Book

Author: passmethatbook

I am a book blogger, where I talk about my favorite reads, new books I've found, or anything related to reading. I am currently accepting ARCs in the genres: Science Fiction, YA, Fantasy, Romance, Historical, and Mystery. I am open for anything, though religious based books are generally not something that I would read, unless a friend/someone I know asks me to. Feel free to email me for questions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Realms of My Mind

Musings on Books to Video Games and Everything In Between

Reading Through the Lists

Working through the never-ending to-be-read list, one book at a time

Bob on Books

Thoughts on books, reading, and life

Writing about books

Where I share my Book Reviews, Muse on book and blog related topics, and tell you about my forays into the Craft World

bookwormmuse

ramblings of a mad woman

angethology

book & film musings

Bookish Blue

Lifestyle Blog

The Never Ending Bookshelf

Where dreams are just a bookshelf away ...

readwithtay

a bookish lifestyle blog

Jaimie Engle

Writes TV, Film, Comics & Books

corastillwrites.wordpress.com/

I write a lot, read a lot and give unsolicited advice.

A Dance With Books

Reviews, Recommendations, Discussions and Book Hauls

KBbookreviews

Fun and detailed book reviews on all genres!

Intotheheartwyld

Adventure Awaits

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Yorkshire Book Lover

Passionate about reviewing brilliant books!

Menlo Park Art

Mrs. Nordensvan's Art Class Website

Upside-Down Books

a world of tea drinkers and dragon riders

%d bloggers like this: