Kindle Ebook Review: Otherkin

Title: Otherkin
Author: Nina Berry
Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy/Romance/Teen
Rated: 3.5/5 stars
Series: Yes
Tags: shapeshifting, girl locked in cage, girl saves people, girl has ultimate decision to make, girl falls for boy, girl is smart and stupid when it comes to boy, school for various shifters, lots of predator vs. prey, surprising LGBT in this book that made me very happy, diverse atmosphere, a hidden school for special kids, other
Recommended for: Fans of Dun Lady’s Jess, T’witches Series, and the Sweep series

This is a wonderful story about a girl who looses her cool and transforms into a tiger. If that doesn’t catch your attention, then maybe this will: she goes to a school similar to that of the xmen only these teenagers just shift into animals, they don’t have other abilities. Each comes from families of shifters of that animal, and each has their own unique power-as well as their own unique names. We’ve got November, Saki, Morfael, and normal names like Caleb. The ultimate badguy is a man named Ximon. Simon, but with an X at the front instead of an S. Weird, but it stands out as a name.

The plot moves at a brisk pace, I loved all the characters, and everyone had interesting back stories. I really liked how the book read, though I hated the obvious cliffhanger at the end. Obvious, because while the main character manages to make it through everything okay, it still leaves things wide open for a second book.

I’m not sure I’ll continue the series. While I enjoyed this book as a means of something different, I also felt like it could’ve been so much more than it was. I can’t explain why I felt that way, only that it read similarly to other books I’ve read regarding shifters before. I do like the writing style, and the atmosphere that this book gives when reading, and it was a perfect Halloween read as well. Not spooky, but full of supernatural beings that felt realistic.

Overall, I’ll give this a three and a half out of five star rating. Good enough to check out from the library, nice enough to own a physical copy at some point, but not something that I’ll be actively searching for.

 

Author: passmethatbook

I am a book blogger, where I talk about my favorite reads, new books I've found, or anything related to reading. I am currently accepting ARCs in the genres: Science Fiction, YA, Fantasy, Romance, Historical, and Mystery. I am open for anything, though religious based books are generally not something that I would read, unless a friend/someone I know asks me to. Feel free to email me for questions!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Realms of My Mind

Musings on Books to Video Games and Everything In Between

Reading Through the Lists

Working through the never-ending to-be-read list, one book at a time

Bob on Books

Thoughts on books, reading, and life

Writing about books

Where I share my Book Reviews, Muse on book and blog related topics, and tell you about my forays into the Craft World

bookwormmuse

ramblings of a mad woman

angethology

book & film musings

Bookish Blue

Lifestyle Blog

The Never Ending Bookshelf

Where dreams are just a bookshelf away ...

readwithtay

a bookish lifestyle blog

Jaimie Engle

Writes TV, Film, Comics & Books

corastillwrites.wordpress.com/

I write a lot, read a lot and give unsolicited advice.

A Dance With Books

Reviews, Recommendations, Discussions and Book Hauls

KBbookreviews

Fun and detailed book reviews on all genres!

Intotheheartwyld

Adventure Awaits

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Yorkshire Book Lover

Passionate about reviewing brilliant books!

Menlo Park Art

Mrs. Nordensvan's Art Class Website

Upside-Down Books

a world of tea drinkers and dragon riders

%d bloggers like this: